Feeling slightly homicidal …

I’m attempting to resist distractions like golf, grandchildren, and fabulous friends who are too interesting and/or too much fun to ignore. The reason? REVISIONS! As Stephen King would say, “kill your darlings, kill your darlings, even when it breaks your egocentric little scribbler’s heart, kill your darlings.His “On Writing:A Memoir Of The Craft” is one of my bibles.

Oh the pain, the agony! It gets messy at times! Trust me folks, it’s not easy deleting and reworking characters and scenes I thought were brilliantly, wonderfully, and abso-frickin’-lutely vital to the story. But that was just me …

I want to have my next novel published by the end of October *palpitations starting … body heat increasing … urge to eat chocolate almost overpowering* so I absolutely have to stay focused. I know all of this murderous behaviour wil only make the story better.

I have a talented, experienced, editor whose opinion I trust and respect. We worked together on the content edit of The Bridge Club  and his guidance is stellar … often difficult to force myself to follow … but stellar! And, yes, I did say “he”… half my age, devoted father of a toddler, who somehow gets what I like to write. I feel very fortunate that he is also available to meet or discuss a point as I know that’s an option not always easy to find.

Okay … I could go on … but my point is this. I MUST stick to my plan today. My Tuesday golf game was rained out and my dinner tonight with my bestie rescheduled. My husband is out of the country for ten days with our youngest son. I have no excuse but to have at least a week of super-productive writing and that means shutting down the social media to a minimum … or I’m in trouble, as it’s the biggest time-suck going!

I’m going to send you instead to Jenny Hansen’s blog which has one of THE most amazing collections of links about writing I’ve seen in a very long time. If writing is a topic that doesn’t call to you at the moment, there are other fab options. So do it … please … click right here and start visiting or bookmarking.

One of the awesome posts Jenny includes is August McLachlan’s “Plotting, Pantser, or Plantser:Finding What Makes You Tick”. I’ve always admitted I’m heavy on the pantser side of things but August, brilliant as usual, offers a compromise. Where do you fit?

Oh, and be sure to check out the always-entertaining Tameri Etherton’s post on self-hosting your own blog which also includes terrific links.

If you are a travel junkie like I am and have been following my posts about Drew and Christine Gilbert‘s documentary The Wireless Generation, take a few minutes to read this recent interview with Christine. All the links are also there for other information you might want to see about this creative, adventurous couple and the choices many people are making about taking their work with them as they travel the globe. As a senior *gulp*, I totally embrace the possibility. Would you?

Natalie Hartford, besides keeping her readers in stitches about topics most of us wouldn’t dare touch, is one of the most vocal advocates for the campaign against drinking and driving. Her family’s personal experience will touch your heart and hopefully encourage you to spread the word.

See what I mean? I could be on here all day just pointing you to other great spots to stop. As always, the blog roll down the side of my page here offers a wealth of fine reading. Alright … I’m outa here … see you Friday!

33 responses to “Feeling slightly homicidal …

  1. Yeahhh Patricia. Revisions and edits mean you are ONE STEP closer to your publication date. So excited and proud…you take all the time you need to get the work done and we’ll be here waiting to cheer you on upon your return…we’ll keep the social media fires burning bright!!! Now…go…revise to your heart’s content (or demise…LOL!)

    HUGS!!!

    AND THANK YOU for the AHHMAZING shout out. Sniff. Warmed my heart!!! You…are the best! MUAH!!! xox

  2. Love the Stephen King quote. I’m reading On Writing now, just started it. Good luck to you as you go after those little darlings. I hope my “FAB” new idea for a character in my WIP isn’t a little darling. I shall weep. But like you said, that’s why it’s important to listen to our readers and editor and get feedback so we can better tell.

    And I LOVED August’s post this week! Excited to see it on several mash ups, it’s a MUST READ.

    • You will love the King book, Jess. The advice is so straightforward! I hope your new FAB character survives but the thing to remember is to be sure to save all your deletions because if a darling has to exit one MS, he or she may well be the star in the next!

  3. What an eye-catching, irresistible title! And what a great quote! Wow, you are full of lovely information. Hope you don’t read this comment until you’re done with your surgery for the day… Good luck and hang in, it’s all worth it in the end…

  4. Aw. I feel your struggle, Patricia! And your determination. I hope your plan goes wonderfully, and you’re able to treat yourself to chocolate, too.

    Thanks for the lovely shout out! Means a lot. :) Cheering for you big time…

  5. They don’t call it Revision Hell for nothing, my friend…so sorry you’re feeling homicidal. this too shall pass. :-)

    Thanks so much for the link – I appreciate it. You’re one of the best tweeps In. The. World!!

    • In spite of my moaning, I actually love the revising process. It’s just messy killing those darlings! But I don’t actually do them in, I just pop them into another folder so I can bring them out in all their glory in some other MS!

  6. That is awesome you found someone to work with who “gets you.” It makes the process all that more rewarding (after the darling slaying is over and the blood cleaned up).

    • Exactly! I feel really fortunate to have the editor I do. I’ll deal with the mess if I get the results I need – nothing a few pieces of chocolate won’t clear right up!

  7. On Writing is one of my favourite writing books and – I’ll have to whisper this as it’s a little impertinent coming from someone who isn’t a successful writer – much better written than most of his novels IMO.
    Good luck with the revisions, I like revising even if it can be depressing due to the total awfullness of my writing, because I’m always afraid I won’t be able to make it to the end and at least when you’re revising you have the whole story there. Even if you have to delete a lot of it.

    • Victoria, if you are writing then you are successful … keep at it! I agree with your comment about King’s On Writing compared to his other books. I haven’t read any of his work because his genre simply does not appeal to me but I truly became enamoured of his style when I read OW. Back to revisions for me … Thanks for stopping by!

  8. You’ll get through it! I know EXACTLY how you feel right now. I was scheduled for a Sept. 15 due date on my editorial changes and noooo way that’s going to happen with the scope of edits I need to complete! But it’s so great to have that editor who sees what you’re trying to do, and tells you how to accomplish it.

    One in a million! Keep it up.

    • I hear you! I know I could do myself a huge favour by simply pushing the publishing date up to the first of the year. I may have to do that but for now I’m going to keep my head down and see if I can finish earlier. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. Hi Patricia, I came upon your blog on She Writes…glad I did! Now following. I’m jealous that you have editor (and a finished novel)…I’m still “getting there” myself. I’m in revisions right now as well, and you’re absolutely correct…it’s sooo hard to cut scenes, revise your characters, etc. I feel like it never ends! For every hour I spend revising, I still find things to change…maddening, but worth it :)

    http://theintrinsicwriter.wordpress.com

    • Hi Katherine, isn’t SheWrites a fabulous forum for us? I don’t spend nearly as much time on it as I should but as soon as I get this novel launched, I intend to get much more involved. Thanks for stopping by and good luck with your revisions! I’ll pop in on your blog soon.

  10. I hope you’re feeling better by now! I’ve been meaning to make it over hear all week to thank you for the shoutout. Too many things on the to-do list and not enough hours in the day. But here I am now! Thank you, thank you, thank you for mentioning my blog. Be sure you let me know when your new book is coming out so I can promote it on my blog! I’m so excited for you, Patricia. This is awesome and amazing all wrapped up in chocolate. Kind of like you, but without the chocolate, you’re simply awesome and amazing.

  11. You should probably give up golfing and eating out with friends. That’s no way to get a novel done. Not that that’s held me up but we’re not talking about me. Otherwise, good luck to all that rearranging. I have to do the same. I didn’t realize I’d be coming over here for you to remind me how difficult that is. Hmph…

    • Totsy, we can commiserate together! My problem is that I just keep trying to squeeze everything into my life because … well, who would’t want to? I mean we’re talking about life here and it’s always got to be as good as it can get. From your posts I get the feeling you have the same philosophy. We just have “git ‘er done”!

  12. I love your blog, Patricia! Looks great. Like you, I’m rushing to launch my chapter book (for ages 7 – 10) on October 10th and cutting it close. Too close for comfort! So it’s been tough keeping up with everyone. I know exactly how you’re feeling. It will be a time to celebrate once it’s done, though! Cheers to getting our books out in October!

It's always good to hear to from you!

