I have a confession to make …

Okay, here are my excuses for not having a post organized for today:

1. Our wifi was down for five days.

2. Every time I went to an internet cafe I was distracted by all the cool stuff going on around me. Even in the quietest location it was all just happening … um, maybe my timing was off … happy hour is always happy, isn’t it …

3. I’m packing and organizing to return to Toronto after our four and a half months in Antibes.

4. Our French friends keep organizing “au revoir” moments (Seriously, my hairdresser is even closing her shop so a few of us can share lunch there tomorrow, how sweet is that? It will be my last opportunity to stumble through a social engagement entirely in French with three women whose laughter is contagious and who patiently explain until I get it too.)

5. With the internet unavailable at home the “distraction quotient”, a common writer’s issue, was greatly reduced. I got on a roll with my manuscript and made great headway this past week. A few unexpected characters  found their way into the story and I’ve been having a fine time developing them. I like it when that happens. I feel energized about the story and hopefully will be able to stay on track and complete it by December.

Now that I’ve shared my list of excuses, I hope it explains why this video has nothing to do with anything except entertainment. One of our kids sent it to me a few months ago and I watch it from time to time (did I mention the “distraction quotient”?) because it is just so much fun. It’s been around, so whether you are viewing it for the first time or the umpteenth, enjoy!  Then send it on to someone you know who will smile just as much when they watch it. Tillman rocks!

This week helped remind me that I need to spend less time on internet demands and more time on actual writing. I’ve got to keep Kristen Lamb’s words ringing in my ear!  If you are a writer or a blogger and haven’t taken her awesome blogging and social media online course, click here and sign up now. She puts it all in perspective.

Enjoy these last few days of September!

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

14 thoughts on “I have a confession to make …

  1. For an unorganized post, it was fabulous!

    I’m like that in cafe’s too. I can’t concentrate because I’m too busy eavesdropping.

    Great video. For some reason, bulldogs are amazing on skateboards and surfboards. Must be in their DNA.

    1. Ok Tameri – since you were so honest, I have to admit that I’m a complete eavesdropper as well! When the eavesdropping is in a foreign language, that totally eliminates any possibility of concentrating on anything else except to order another beverage!

  2. What a bitter sweet feeling for you to be packing and leaving such a beloved location, but also looking forward to home turf. But winter in Toronto is coming up. I hope you have some winter sports to enjoy! Curling? Skiing? Hockey? Welcome back to this continent! I’m sure your French friends will miss you. The video? Fantastic dog! Surfing extraordinaire!

    Thanks for the moments of fun …

    1. You are right Marion, it will be good to be home with our family and friends. The babysitting requests are already piling up. Now, about winter in Toronto … that’s another story … we usually skip it for Florida but this year we actually are staying home since we were away so long over here. Skiing, yes. Hockey, no. Now I have to speak to Tameri about curling!

    1. LOL! Now Tameri, I have to tell you that I was the, ahem, president of the girls’ curling club in high school. Growing up in northern Ontario, every town had a curling club and it often was the social centre of the community. Curlers do know how to party!

      1. I’ll bet you do! Actually, I love to watch curling during the Olympics. They make it look so easy, but I bet it’s truly hard to get the disc thing spot on.

        Good on you, Patricia! Curl away.

  3. Have safe travels home and enjoy all the “au revoir” moments! I am sure it’ll be sad to leave this place of wonderment and adventure but there’s something special about coming home as well. And great news on the WIP progress – woot woot!!!

    1. Thanks! For sure it will be great to see everyone at home and Toronto is a fab city. I’m still going to write about France for a few months as I have so many photos and great stories to share. I’ll be disengaging
      s l o w l y …

  4. Patricia, no worries. This time will never come again. Enjoy the memories and friendships. You will keep them for a lifetime. The blogging world will be here when you get back. Human contact, face to face meetings are really what enhance our lives and ultimately our writing.

  5. I hope you have had a wonderful trip. I loved your post. It’s hard to juggle writing, blogging and everything else. The video was too cute. I didn’t know dogs could surf.

It's always good to hear to from you!