CBBH Photo Challenge: Ancient & Modern

You know how I love photo challenges! When I saw this month’s topic on the CBBH Photo Challenge on Marianne’s East of Malaga blog, I knew precisely which photos I wanted to use.  In all of our travels, nowhere was the contrast between ancient and modern more vivid to me than in Rome.  With the blink of an eye, the new contrasted with the old no matter where you looked.

First, then …

Forum/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Forum/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Colosseum/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Colosseum/Rome-PSandsPhotos

Where the price of entertainment could be your life …

Colosseum/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Colosseum/Rome-PSandsPhotos

And now …

Via Condotti/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Via Condotti/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Via Condotti/Rome-PSandsPhotos
Via Condotti/Rome-PSandsPhotos

Where the price of entertainment could still be your life …

Rome-PSandsPhotos
Rome-PSandsPhotos

Part of the fun of this challenge is visiting other participants’ blogs to see what photos they have chosen. Here are just a couple of my favourites!

Don’t miss this fabulous post~secrets of Paris revealed! Theurgetowander.com

And a look at ancient and modern in Scandinavia – Forestwoodfolkart.wordpress.com

This challenge got me thinking about what might be good subject matter for ancient and modern in my own back yard. It’s not so obvious in a young country like Canada but I’m taking my camera one of these days and thinking outside the box. Where would you look?

 

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

22 thoughts on “CBBH Photo Challenge: Ancient & Modern

  1. I love the idea of the acient beside the modern. I noticed much of that in Spain as well. We don’t have as much here in Canada but I recently visited the Tryrrell Museum in Drumheller, where the bones of ancient dinosaurs housed in a modern building with modern day vehicles, using oil and gas to operate, parked in front, made me think of the circle of existence.

  2. Difficult here in Toronto where they tear everything old down. You’d have endless photo ops in Montreal.

  3. Ah yes, Rome. Isn’t it wonderful how the Colosseum sits majestically next to modern, every-day building?

    Your photos are exactly the reason I chose this subject for August. You’ve captured the spirit, beautifully, Patricia 🙂

    Thanks for sharing two links you have visited and enjoyed. I love this part of the challenge. There are so many fantastic blogs out there!

    As Darlene mentions, I’ve visited the Dinosaur museum in Drumheller, too – you can’t get much more ancient than that in Canada, Patricia!

    1. You do get around! I must get there one of these days. Your photo challenges are always great fun and provide lots of food for thought along with introducing opportunities to meet intriguing bloggers!

  4. Great examples for the challenge Patricia! Haven’t been to Rome in decades, but I remember the contrasts clearly.
    Thank you so much for the kind mention. Much appreciated 🙂

  5. Wonderful photogrpahs! I so love Rome and one of the most amazing feels is that of the ancient and the new. I can walk around the same spot over and over and always see something so different….really an amazing city!

  6. I love love love the photos of the ancient ruins! I am a sucker for old architecture. Europe holds on to its history so much better than the America’s.

  7. I see someone already suggested Quebec for photo ops. I went there in 1976 on honeymoon. Gorgeous contrast between old and new. We stayed at the Hotel Frontenac which was an elegant structure. Here in the states, most cities keep some of the old in their downtown area (business buildings) and in a few residential areas with stone houses or Victorians. My hometown had the Erie Canal running through it and the city is nicknamed The Salt City for the large salt marshes and the trading of salt with other areas via the canal. Historic buildings are protected here as landmarks. Good hunting for more gorgeous pics like these from Italy!

It's always good to hear to from you!