THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG HOP

The holidays are here! After all the planning, shopping, wrapping, baking, and celebrating, find a quiet spot to get comfy with a good book. If you are looking for some new books to read, have I got suggestions for you today! Crime, fantasy, intrigue, romance, drama … it’s all here!

I’ve been tagged by my friend, Steena Holmes, to take part in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop. It’s a great way for authors to share information with readers about their upcoming projects and I’m going to share links today with some fine writers who have new books in the making. I’ve mixed it up with several genres so there is something for everyone!

I’m very excited because I finally am  going to talk about my new novel. It’s the first time I’ve ‘gone public’ with it!

Hmmm –  I guess what this means is that I have to keep my head down, finish the edits, and actually publish in February as I plan to do. The pressure is on!

First of all though, I want to say a few words about the amazing Steena Holmes. A prolific writer Author-Photo1in several genres, Steena’s novel FINDING EMMA became an Amazon bestseller this year and brought her into the limelight where she belongs.

Not only is Steena a talented writer, she is also a champion of self-publishing and generously shares her advice and experience with the rest of the writing community. Her brilliance has been recognized and she now has an agent! Woohoo! We are all so proud of her and delighted with her success.

When you visit Steena’s website, you’ll discover that not only is she a busy wife, mother, daughter (she took her parents along on the family vacation to Disneyland this month!) writer, and fantastic friend but she has also established the Author Red Room,  a comprehensive author support business, and is involved in charity work and much more. She’s a fellow Canadian too!  Click here now. You will be very glad you did.

Alrighty – here are the questions I was asked to answer about my Next Big Thing!

Random Q&A about my current WIP

1: What is the working title of my latest book?  

The Promise of Provence

PSandsPhotos
PSandsPhotos

2: What is the book about?


 It’s the story of a woman in her mid-fifties who suddenly finds her world turned upside down. A home exchange to the south of France, a yellow lab named Picasso, and the magic of Provence combine to turn her life around. What happens as a result is something she would never have imagined!

 3: What genre does your book come under?

 You’ll find it under Contemporary Fiction or Women’s Fiction.

 4: What do you love about this story?

No surprise here – I love that half of the book is set in the south of France! I also love the themes of hope and change that run through the story.

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

 It’s never too late to start over. Did I really say that? It may be one of my shortest sentences ever when I talk about my work.

 6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

 I am proud to be an indie author!

 7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

 My first draft was ready in September. I’m finishing my final edits now and to this point it has taken me a year and a half of writing. I hope to publish in February 2013.

 8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 Under The Tuscan Sun is a good comparison, showing how taking a chance and spending time in a completely new environment might change your life. Other than that, the characters, storyline and setting take you on a very different journey.

 9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 I love the south of France and my greatest pleasure in writing is telling women’s stories. I am constantly inspired by the strength of women and their ability to meet life head on, no matter what the circumstances. To combine those made writing this novel a joy! I feel lucky to have spent quite a bit of time in France and in the summer of 2011, my husband and I lived in Antibes  for 5 months. I knew I just had to write about life there. To me, it’s magic. 

 10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Oh gosh, where to begin? Let me just say there are plenty of surprises, a charming French suitor who brings cheese instead of flowers, and lots of exploring down intriguing streets like the one here.

Antibes-PSandsPhotos
Antibes-PSandsPhotos

 One of the best things about TNBT is that I have an opportunity to provide links to some other authors for you to check out. 

Here are a few fabulous writers who will be telling you about their Next Big Thing  next week on their blogs … or whenever they have time after the holidays. You are going to enjoy getting to know them … I promise!

Diane Capri ~ License To Thrill

Christine Nolfi ~ Contemporary Fiction

Matthew Merrick ~ Fantasy Author

Tameri Etherton ~ A Cup Of Tea and Sorcery

Sheri DeGrom ~ From The Literary and Legislative Trenches

Tameri and Sheri also tagged me in a Next Big Thing blog a while ago and I just wasn’t quite at the point where I was ready to talk about The Promise of Provence. Sorry it took me so long, my friends! Thanks for thinking of me!

And now it’s your turn, dear readers. What’s THE NEXT BIG THING in your world? Let’s hear all about it!

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

16 thoughts on “THE NEXT BIG THING BLOG HOP

  1. You are an absolute sweetheart! Thank you for your kind words darlin!
    And I can’t wait to read your book! If you want a blurb or anything let me know … this sounds like my kind of book! I’ve always wanted to go to Southern France and then over to Tuscany. I have a painting in my office of Tuscany – it’s my dream painting … I want to go there one day and write a story. Soon!

  2. Oh, yes, congratulations on this variation of The Next Big Thing. You are definitely ‘IT.’ Isn’t it fun to tell us what you’ve been working on so hard. And, thanks for giving me the opportunity to really think hard about my second project. It’ll be a bit a time until I get there if that’s okay with you – as in next year. In the meantime, Happy Holidays and congratulations. I can’t wait to check out the links you’ve posted.

  3. Sheri, take all the time you need. As you know, I certainly understand and you have had a lot on your plate. I really wanted to recognize you here and thank you for tagging me. We will all be eagerly awaiting what you have to share!

  4. .I have nominated you for the Blog Of The Year Award 2012. I hope you will accept. But there is no obligation, other than to enjoy the nomination! Well done! Please come and see your nomination on my blog!

  5. February! We finally have a time set for when we can get your book, that’s a fabulous early Christmas gift! Just the knowing is exciting… now the waiting will give me something to look forward to. I’m so excited for you, Patricia. It sounds like a great read. Thanks for tagging me! I’ll probably have something up in the later part of January. It’s all hush-hush right now, but you’ve given me a great reason to break out the champagne and balloons when I can reveal my Next Big Thing!

    Until then, congrats again on your new book!!

It's always good to hear to from you!