The best tattoo I have ever seen.

I discovered this on my Facebook page with the message that Facebook had been deeming the photo unacceptable and removing it. I couldn’t figure out why.It just looked like a beautiful tattoo.

When I read on, tears came to my eyes. Bravo to this woman.

Ps3ZBEL

The text that accompanied the picture was this: “This is the photo that Facebook keeps taking down and keeps disappearing from all pages including comments. See if we can keep it going.This woman has this tattoo to cover mastectomy scars. I think it is beautiful and brave. What is so offensive Facebook”

I think it is beautiful and brave too. If it turns out not to be true, I still think it is a brilliant idea.

In vain, I have googled and searched in an attempt to find the source of this photograph.

This is the only link I could find. If any of you  know more about it, please let me know.

Since it was on Facebook, I figure it will be fine to post here. If it isn’t, I imagine I will hear about it.

If you are as touched as I am by this, pleasemail1 pass it on and pause for a moment to honour every single woman whose life has been touched by breast cancer. Then, please drop by the Facebook page for the Canadian Breast Cancer Support Fund and give it a “like”. It feels appropriate. Thanks!

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

37 thoughts on “The best tattoo I have ever seen.

  1. Wow, I hadn’t seen that. It is gorgeous. Before I read the story I thought, Omigosh! Who would do something like that to herself?! But afterwards, I thought: That makes perfect sense.

    Funny how a little context changes everything.

    What a wonderful way to create something beautiful out of what was once there. Stunning! And if the person with this tattoo really has survived cancer, she can certainly endure a few more needles to produce something gorgeous like her ink-cami.

  2. My mother had a double mastectomy in 1952 and her scars were massive. She was never self conscious about it but certainly understood why some women would be. I say congrats to this woman for taking action that made her feel better and helped her through a very difficult transition. Suck it up Facebook and let beauty stand!

  3. That truly is one of the most beautiful tattoos I’ve ever seen. Artistically and aesthetically. I don’t know why Facebook would take it down. Some of the pics I see from erotica authors are far more revealing!

  4. This is such a great work of art and I can’t imagine why FB might take it down. It may have had some inflammatory message with it at some point, but I see that every day! Doesn’t make sense.
    Beautiful!

  5. Hey Patricia, call me a jaded New Yorker, but possibly FB keeps removing it because they know that’s it’s actually too good to be true and in reality it is an internet hoax playing on peoples’ emotions. If it was real I don’t think it would be an anonymous source. I found you through you finding me on Susie’s site.

    1. Okay, you are a jaded New Yorker … and you may well be right. I’m attempting to find out the truth about it. Thanks for stopping by. Yup, good to meet you at Susie’s “do”!

  6. Wow! I hadn’t seen it on Facebook. And I don’t know how I missed your original post. But I am glad I’ve seen this one. Sometimes I really hate Facebook and this is one of those times. Why would they take this down?

  7. You’re making me wish I’d linked to this for my breast cancer post on the Beauty of a Woman blogfest. I’d heard about an older woman doing this, but not a younger one. I think this photo is LOVELY.

  8. The bravery of the women of the Scar Project is astounding and prompted me to post to twitter a picture of my own cancer scar. Not really a scar, but the aftermath of bi-lateral orchiectomy – an empty sack. I’m not not sure if the loss of my testicles is equivalent to the loss of a woman’s breasts, but it is comparable. I think the difference is that, while breasts are ‘on display’, balls are not. Kudos to these women.

  9. Here is what I got after a quick research:
    Inga Duncan Thornell is the woman name and here is her personal website
    There is a special section dedicated to the tatoo

It's always good to hear to from you!