Beautiful and Brave – tattoo follow-up

Last week I posted about the stunning tattoo that covered a woman’s mastectomy scars.

As I mentioned in that post, I had been unable to track down any real information6a00d834710a0e69e201543448174a970c-800wi about the photo. Well, I don’t need to remind you that the internet can be a wonderful place. One of my readers forwarded my post to someone she knew. That person had, quite amazingly IMHO, recently seen the website of the woman to whom this tattoo belongs and she kindly forwarded it to me. To quote her, “Coincidences abound”.

Please click here and see Inga Duncan Thornell’s blog. Centrestage belongs to her today and rightly so.

I also want to add a shout-out here to August McLachlan’s fabulous BEAUTY OF A WOMAN BLOGFEST. Kudos to her for organizing this event again on Friday, February 22nd. The response last year was amazing and this year will be bigger and even more beautiful. You can sign up for it by clicking on this link. Join your blog to the list of participants. Not a blogger? Then raise your voice and pass the word around. We are all in this together!

Don’t miss her blog today in which she talks about the documentary Miss Representation. A film every single person, young or old, should see. I believe it should be mandatory viewing in high school.

miss-representation-cover

 

Are you going to participate in the Beauty Of A Woman blogfest? How do you feel about the way women are represented in the media? Are you happy with the improvements in gender equality you see in your world?

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

9 thoughts on “Beautiful and Brave – tattoo follow-up

  1. I’m so excited you found the woman! I’ll check out Inga’s website when I leave here. Coincidences certainly do abound!

    I’ll be participating in August’s Beauty of a Woman Blogfest this year! I missed it last year and am happy I can join the party with all you fabulous women. And I agree, Miss Representation should be mandatory viewing in schools, hospitals, homes, the grocery store, everywhere it can reach people and get the message across.

  2. I don’t know how I missed your original post, but I’m glad I’ve seen this now. Why would Facebook take that down? Sometimes I really hate Facebook. This is one of those times. He (Zuckerberg) is just so arrogant.

  3. That is so great that you tracked the photo down! It is a small world with the internet as a mighty tool!
    I can’t participate this year since I will be leaving tomorrow for Wisconsin. It’s my dad’s 87th birthday on Friday and they get very spotty internet. I don’t want to sit at McDonald’s! 🙂

    1. I know what you mean about the “scary” part. Sometimes you really have to wonder whether it’s a good thing or not but in this case I think it’s wonderful! I love how we all meet and connect in this online global community. Hopefully we can always manage to keep the “scary” away!

It's always good to hear to from you!