Friday … somewhat belated …

If it’s Friday, it must be France … except this week it isn’t. In fact, this week I’m kind of all over the map – so please bear with me!

First of all, I’ve had an amazing week visiting on the serenely beautiful 47-foot sailboat my friend, Nancy J. Nicholson, and her family call home these days. Living life from one port to the next is exciting and challenging and Nancy shares their experiences on her blog every week.

Every single one of her posts offers a look into a way of life most of us can only imagine. Please be sure to go and visit regularly for an adventure you will enjoy every single time. Trust me!

Today is my last day with her and I’m going to miss being there. Take a look at what we’re talking about! If your friends are as important to you as ours are, you’ll want to be part of this chat.

This Friday is also the day I’m excited and honoured to be featured on the World Literary Café’s Author Spotlight Elite Blog … wow, that was a bit of a mouthful. Please click here to stop and visit for a few minutes.

We may not all be writers but I know for certain we are all avid readers. This community-friendly website will have a lot of information and opportunities you’ll find interesting. Check it out!

So it feels like a day that’s a bit of all about me. But really it’s all about the eight women who are the stars of my novel The Bridge Club.

They are very much like your BFF’s and share many of the same experiences you and your friends have been through together. Until the last chapter, that is, when life throws a curve at them no one saw coming. How would you handle that situation? It could never be easy.

So when you get back ashore from Nancy’s sailboat, please make a stop at this energizing site that is bringing writers and readers together all over the world.

This Friday we were also supposed to have the first huge snowfall of the season in Toronto. They warned about it all day on radio, television and print so everyone was getting prepared which meant cancelling appointments, changing plans, etc. Not that we aren’t used to snow up here … just not this winter where we really haven’t had any. And the truth is … as crazy as it seems … sometimes during that first major storm reasonable intelligent people forget how to drive in a reasonable intelligent manner. I’m not certain why this happens but it seems to be a fact.

Anyway, after all the hullaballoo, the storm didn’t happen. Nope – it rained mostly with a few flakes here and there. It was very disappointing to some people who were hoping for a day off work and others of us who were actually looking forward to some snow for a change. I mean, hello … it is winter! Somehow weather forecasting, in spite of all today’s high-tech assistance, still is not an exact science.

I had re-arranged a bunch of things in my day as I was preparing to come and stay with the Adorables (our two youngest grandchildren, ages 2-1/2 and 4) for the weekend so their parents could enjoy two days of r&r. That’s what I’m doing now. I’ve got my “Nana” hat on, which is one of my favourites. The Adorables are still sleeping but it won’t be long before we are full on into the day’s activities of gymnastics, colouring, stories, songs,playing outside, and who knows what else.

In my spare time, which won’t be much, I’ll be going over a presentation for the University Women’s Club in Peterborough, an hour and a bit north of Toronto. I’m looking forward to being the guest speaker at their luncheon on Tuesday and meeting a new group of interesting ladies. As women do, I know they will have some great stories to share!

Next week we will get back to France. I’ve been writing about it all week in my manuscript and I’m looking forward to taking you back there with me. In the meantime, have a fabulous weekend and thanks for stopping by Nancy’s and the WLC when you have the time!

How are you spending your weekend? Have winter storms been a part of your life this year or have you experienced a bizarrely mild climate like we have in Toronto?  What do you do when everything seems to happen at once and your entire schedule gets thrown out of whack? Can you simply go with the flow?

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

6 thoughts on “Friday … somewhat belated …

  1. I wish I was a go-with-the-flow person, but I’m not. When everything crashes in on me at once, I cave. And think about throwing things. *Think*, mind you. 😉

    Lots of great stuff happening with you, Patricia!

    1. Angela, I’m glad the operative word is “think”. Life is full of times when things come crashing in and perhaps as time goes by you will start to go with the flow. It makes life easier, honest!

  2. The Adorables! I love that. What an active and exciting life you have! I feel kind of guilty for hanging out and reading a book all day. Well, only a little, I am reading, after all.

    This week has been fun hanging out with you and Nancy on her boat. I’ll miss the fun times, but look forward to getting back to France next week.

    1. I envy you the time to hang out and read and can’t wait to have that kind of time back again. Right now my reading consists of a few minutes right before I fall asleep at night … and that’s just not enough!

It's always good to hear to from you!