Gratitude feels so good, doesn’t it?

Yesterday I hade the pleasure of speaking at a luncheon meeting of the Canadian Federation of University Women in Peterborough, Ontario. This national organization is under the umbrella of the International Federation of University Women. Their goal is to empower women and girls through lifelong education for leadership, decision-making and peace and their global reach is long and strong.Image

If there is a branch in your area, I strongly urge to you get involved with these active and forward-thinking women!

IMHO, being invited to engage in speaking opportunities is THE best side effect of having a published novel. I love it! Whether it is an intimate book club meeting or larger groups, it’s such a buzz!

Exchanging information, ideas and stories with people who have knowledge and experience to share is an energizing way to spend some time. I always walk away feeling motivated and immensely fulfilled. So thank you, Peterborough CFUW for a lovely time together … not to mention a delicious lunch!

Coincidentally, I had lived part of my youth just north of Peterborough in the quaint small town of Lakefield on the shores of the Otonobee River and Lake Katchewanooka, part of the Trent-Severn Canal system. I completed the last three years of high school there and have one dear friend in particular – yay Sandy! – with whom I have always stayed in touch.

So I drove the two hours a day early, through beautiful, pastoral countryside and past more century farms than I recalled, and spent Monday with my girlfriend. A small aside here, as I said to the CFUW women yesterday, “Girlfriends are girlfriends, whether you are 5, 25, or 85.”

We drove around to all the old familiar spots including the favourite parking spots for watching “submarine races” on the canal and laughed and reminisced. Such fun! We popped in to visit a cousin of mine I hadn’t seen in way too long and later I visited a dear old family friend (who had bravely taught me to drive when I turned 16, sparing my parents the torture) and his wife. For dinner, we went to a spot that was our favourite ice cream or coke float stop on our walk home from school. The interior has changed, as have the owners, but from the outside it looks as it did 50 (yikes!!!) years ago and they have not changed the name.

Apart from the inevitable spread of some new sub-divisions on the periphery, the town (really it’s more like a village) remains remarkably unchanged. That was nice to see.

Lakefield has more recently established a respected Literary Festival, held in July on the weekend closest to writer Margaret Laurence‘s birthday on July 18. Celebrating Lakefield’s rich literary heritage it was begun not only to honour Laurence but also two of Canada’s earliest pioneer writers, Catherine Parr Traill and Susanna Moodie. All of these women lived in the area, with Laurence living in town and in a nearby cottage on the Otonabee River for the latter seventeen years of her life.

Take a look at the Festival website and plan a delightful day trip this July 20 – 22.

So as I drove back to Toronto late yesterday afternoon, I felt very grateful for everything. The talk, the new friends, the old friends, the memories. Life is good.

I also want to take care of some old gratitude business today. Although I thanked each of these women at the time for the thoughtful awards they bestowed, ImageI want to highlight their blogs and send some new readers their way. It’s definitely worth your while to pay them a visit as each of these writers offers very diverse and entertaining writing styles and information. Do it!

The lovely and hilarious Tameri Etherton’s “A Cup Of Tea and Sorcery” offers her thoughts on an endless range of topics. A fantasy writer who is getting close to publishing her mega-project, she injects every post with her very special manner of expression that always has me laughing out loud. You will too … I promise!

Patricia Caviglia’s site, “Playing With Matches” is full of surprises.  The author of the YA novella, Masks, this young woman is a fearless and edgy writer who often shares her insights into juggling a career, co-parenting a sweet four-year-old daughter, and establishing her voice in the writing community. Fortunately for me she lives in the Toronto area, well… okay, Mississauga … but that will always be part of Toronto to me … and we get to actually spend time together, usually at the Writers & Editors Network breakfast meetings, and I like her a lot. So will you.

Lastly, but by no means leastly, is the remarkable Emmie Mears. Ah, Emmie, where to begin … Well her tagline will tell you something “Saving the world from brooding, one self-actualized vampire at a time”. Urban fantasy is her genre and she is well into her work and actively seeking representation. “Reality filtered through a supernatural lens — that is the magic,” to quote her. There are many sides to this young woman, including the Buffy-verse she loves, and her humour, intelligence and commitment to her beliefs is obvious. I learned about Eve Ensler’s powerful V-day program from Emmie. Stop by her blog. I guarantee you will stay. (You know I’m not there for Buffy!)

So, Tameri, Patricia, Emmie, please forgive me for being just a touch tardy at getting around to an official thank you. I know I don’t have to explain … we are all writers … we know how it is …   I SO appreciated the awards and will add the widgets to my blog. Um, well to be honest … I’ll ask my irreplaceable techie goddess, Carrie Spencer, to do it for me since I still haven’t figured it out.

I wonder if it’s Leap Day that is causing me to feel so grateful today? It is fun to think we have an extra day that will make such a absolutely NO difference in us getting caught up on everything. Nah, truly I feel grateful every day. How about you?

Published by patriciasands

Patricia Sands lives in Toronto, Canada when she isn't somewhere else, particularly the south of France. With a happily blended family of seven adult children and, at last count, six grandchildren, life is full and time is short. Beginning with her first Kodak Brownie camera at the age of six, she has told stories all of her life through photography. Much to her surprise a few years ago, she began to write and has now published three novels, including two that are part of a six-book series set in the south of France. Love France? Love her work! Check out her website www.patriciasandsauthor.com She is particularly drawn to the rewarding friendships of women and the challenges many embrace once their families are grown. "It's never too late to begin something new," she enthuses. "As the saying goes, just do it!"

26 thoughts on “Gratitude feels so good, doesn’t it?

  1. Thank you so much for the lovely shout out! I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it, but my best friend lives in Toronto with her boyfriend, and my husband and I are trying to make it up there this year. If we do, we shall have to meet up! 😀

  2. Beautiful post, Patricia. It feels good to give and to receive. Gratitude is something we should all embrace.
    How wonderful that you had fun on your speaking engagement and were able to see your old haunts again! I don’t know if I’m brave enough to speak at any events. Maybe when I’m published I’ll gain a little courage. 🙂

    1. Thanks! With my teaching background I’m used to being “on stage” so I think that has been very helpful. When you really believe in your message the rest is easy! You’ll get there, I’m sure of it!

  3. Patricia, congratulations on your speaking event!
    I was wondering, do you have any helpful hints to alleviate nervousness while speaking in public?
    I’m a little embarrassed to admit this, but there have been a couple times I’ve been asked to give a speech and have made excuses and gotten out of going to events just so I don’t have to face the fear of public speaking. Can you believe I studied communications in college and I’m a former journalist? 🙂

    1. Dear Amanda, I wish I could give you a magic formula. You are certainly not alone in feeling the way you do. As a former teacher, I’m accustomed to being “on stage” and I know that experience certainly helps. I’m also very comfortable with my subject matter and the messages I’m sharing so it’s a pleasure to deliver them. Have you thought about taking a course that might help you break through the fear? If you want to do it, don’t give up trying to get more comfortable with it! Onward!

      1. In college every class I took I had to speak or present at least one time throughout the semester. I never got comfortable. I think my problem is I start off feeling confident and without fail somewhere in the middle of the speech I start overthinking it and get nervous. Sigh. Thanks for the suggestions!

  4. You know what I’m grateful for? Meeting you. Your enthusiasm, positive outlook, generous heart, gorgeous smile, all of you is simply amazing and such an inspiration! How can I ever complain about being overworked or stressed out when you are doing so much good in the world. Seriously, you are Wonder Woman. Thanks for the shout out and if I had a Medal of Honor, I’d give it to you.

    1. You always know just the right thing to say! I’m grateful for your friendship too. I’m not sure about the “Wonder Woman” title … although that’s who I tell my grandchildren I am … hmm, how did that info get out … LOL. The best part is they believe me!
      Thanks for your kind words, my dear friend.

  5. First off, thank you for your friendship. From music festivals, to home decor, to potty training, you are there for me.

    Secondly, CONGRATULATIONS on your speaking event! You are a true Leo. The stage comes naturally to you.

    Lastly, gnocchi tricolori are still on the menu for March. We just need to pick a date.

  6. Such a lovely post, Patricia! I wish I could have been there to hear you speak–perhaps one day. 🙂 I’m grateful for my incredibly patient lived ones today… my family who stays close across the miles…and writer friends like you.

    1. Haha – you have to wonder where the “smart” comes in sometimes. I’m always hitting the send button at the wrong time. I knew what you meant, dear August. Your family sounds wonderful and that has always been my primary focus too. A happy family puts life into perspective!

  7. What a delightful day you had! Thanks for sharing. We used to rent a cottage at a resort near Peterborough (Rice Lake) in the summer so I’m familiar with some of the areas you talked about. I would have enjoyed hearing you speak.

    You just have a way of describing “place” that I enjoy. Ever thought of writing travel articles?

    1. I know Rice Lake. That entire area has so much to offer. Thanks for your kind words! I would love to write travel articles at some point and somehow I do end up including a lot of that kind of info in my novels. It makes the story so much more fun … for me anyway!

  8. I have a speaking engagement tomorrow, Patricia. Yes, I’m a little bit nervous, even though I’ve had speaking engagements before. I think part of the nervousness comes from being treated like the town celeb. 😉 I think the message that comes across from your post, is to just relax, have fun, and be yourself. Thanks for that. On the subject of small towns, I live in Droitwich, UK. We have a narrowboat (more short than narrow. A baby boat!) and our main areas of navigation are …. Trent-Severn Canal system, UK! 🙂 xx

    1. Best of luck tomorrow and, yes, relax and enjoy it. Enjoy sharing your message! Oh narrowboats fascinate me! Do you live on it too? LOL – what a coincidence about the canal system! Love it!

  9. I know Emmie and Tameri, and enjoy both their blogs, but thank you for the introduction to one I’m not familiar with. I’ll make a point of going by Patricia’s blog.

    “Girlfriends are girlfriends, whether you are 5, 25, or 85.” – This is so true!

    1. Hey Marcy, thanks for stopping by! There are so many great blogs to check in on, aren’t there? I can see you obviously appreciate the value of girlfriends too!

It's always good to hear to from you!